The Board of Transport
Commissioners for Canada
Commission des Transports
du Canada

Order no. R-1621

Thursday, the 29th of
February, A.D. 1968

In the matter of the application of the Canadian Pacific Railway Company hereinafter called the "Applicant Company", for authority, in respect of its Customer Service Plan in the Agincourt Area, in the Province of Ontario, to remove twenty-four agents and five caretaker-agents from stations on its Trenton Division.

D.H. Jones

J. M. Woodard

Upon hearing the application at a sittings of the Committee at Toronto, Ontario, on February 13, 1968, in the presence of Counsel for the Applicant Company; Mr. Charles Hoover, representing the Township of Markham Council; Mr. W.W. Templeton, Mayor, representing the Town of Bala; Mrs. Barbara Allen, Reeve, representing the Village of Tweed; Mr. W. Richardson, representing the Chamber of Commerce of Pontypool; Mr. J. Payne, representing the Township of Manvers Council and Messrs. J.L. Wilson and R. Kennedy of the Town of Locust Hill; and UPON reading the submissions filed—

The Railway Transport Committee of the Canadian Transport Commission hereby orders:

  1. Upon the implementation by the Applicant Company of its Customer Service Plan in the Agincourt Area in the Province of Ontario, as submitted by the Applicant Company at the said hearing, the Applicant Company is authorized to remove the station agents at:
    Woodbridge Myrtle Port Hope
    Uhthoff Claremont Cobourg
    Perth Camp Borden Bowmanville
    Sharbot Lake Lindsay Whitby
    Kaladar Tichborne Midhurst
    Bonarlaw Roblindale Bala
    Norwood Brighton Belleville
    Tweed Midland Orillia

    and to remove the caretakers at:

    Coldwater Pontypool Locust Hill
    Verona Cavan

    in the Province of Ontario.

  2. Any station or shelter at the points mentioned in section 1 shall, so long as it is served by passenger trains, be kept clean, heated and lighted.

C.W. Rump
The Board of Transport Commissioners for Canada.